In-Person Rehearsals:
In-person rehearsals follow WA State DOH guidelines for schools. We are watching evolving School District and State COVID guidelines and will make changes accordingly. Click here for complete BYSO COVID Policy and Procedures.


Fall Quarter Dates | September 26, 2022 through November 22, 2022

There are 7-8 rehearsals per quarter, which are held on Monday evenings and one Saturday retreat for each ensemble during Fall and Winter Quarters. Specific dates will be posted here as the Fall quarter approaches.

Click here for audition information.


Sinfonia is an advanced intermediate orchestra in the Bellevue Youth Symphony Orchestra organization. Sinfonia employs full symphonic instrumentation (strings, woodwinds, brass, and percussion). The typical Sinfonia student has had some private instruction and school ensemble experience and is developing solid technical skills and musical understanding.

Sinfonia provides advancing students the opportunity to perform challenging literature for full orchestra. Past works performed include Haydn’s Symphony No. 104, Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro Overture, and Barroso’s Aquarela do Brazil.

Conductor: Barney Blough

Barney Blough holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Music Performance and a Master of Music Education degree from Central Washington University, a Teaching Certificate from Seattle Pacific University, and a Professional Certificate from Pacific Lutheran University. He has served as Music Director of the Seattle Chamber Orchestra, Assistant Conductor of the Rainier Symphony, and Assistant Conductor of the Lake Union Civic Orchestra. Learn more.

Contact Barney Blough at

Messages from the Conductor

Welcome to Sinfonia Spring Quarter

Please listen the recordings of our repertoire linked below.  Pay close attention to stylistic elements such as dynamics, articulation, and phrasing.

Brahms Hungarian Dance No. 6 – Frankfurt Radio Symphony

Brahms Hungarian Dance No. 6 – Moscow Philharmonic

Brahms Hungarian Dance No. 6 – Polish Youth Symphony

Brahms Hungarian Dance No. – Portland Youth Philharmonic

West Side Story Highlights – Bernstein

Sponsors & Partners