youth playing in concert

Premiere Orchestra Messages

OCTOBER 17, 2022

Fantastic work at retreat this weekend! I am impressed by and appreciative of your level of preparation on your parts for rehearsal. It is fun to work with a group full of musicians who bring their part ready to the rehearsal.

We are now turning our focus to the ensemble work and the attention to style and character in the pieces. While you are practicing your music on your own, add the bowing style that we are working on for each piece. Remember that the Bach is played with a detached Baroque style bowing, while the Brahms is much heavier and more sustained.

Continue to listen to and watch recordings. This will help you learn the style of the music even more. Here are some suggested recordings:

Brandenburg Sinfonia- performed by community center chamber orchestra

Brandenburg Concerto No. 3- Performed by a small chamber orchestra

Nocturne- Mendelssohn- Performed by Luther College Symphony

Nocturne- Mendelssohn- Our arrangement

Brahms Symphony No. 1- Finale- Performed by Boston Philharmonic

Brahms- Symphony No. 1- Our Arrangement


Fall Quarter 2022 Music- and tempo markings for your music

  • Brandenburg Sinfonia- J.S. Bach, arranged by Merle J. Isaac
    • half note = 80 or quarter note = 160
  • Nocturne from A Midsummer Night’s Dream- Mendelssohn, arranged by Richard Meyer
    • measure 1- quarter note = 68
    • measure 34- slightly faster
  • Symphony No. 1 (4th movement)- Brahms, arranged by Richard Meyer
    • measure 1- quarter note = 72
    • measure 12- quarter note = 116
    • measure 76- half note = 66
    • measure 86- half note = 104


Sponsors & Partners